Friday, October 09, 2015
skip to the main content area of this page
Missoula County Seal and image of areas around the City

Missoula County Official Website

About Us

Missoula County, Montana covers approximately 2,600 square miles in the western part of the state. Five large valleys and two major rivers wind through this mountainous region. Missoula County has a population of approximately 110,900 (2012 US Census estimation) people and the county seat is Missoula.

The Missoula County Courthouse, 200 West Broadway, Missoula, MT, 59802, was completed in 1910. Its south foyer is graced by a series of eight murals painted by famed western artist Edgar S. Paxson between 1912 and 1914. An addition to the Courthouse was completed in 1966.

Missoula County is governed by three Commissioners, each elected to staggered six-year terms. The current Commissioners are Jean Curtiss, Bill Carey, and Nicole "Cola" Rowley.  For current chair person, please visit the Commissioner's home page.