Justice Court - Tickets
This desk handles traffic citations (written by the Missoula County Sheriff's Department and the Montana Highway Patrol), Fish and Game violations, Minors in Possession of Alcohol, Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol and/or Drugs first, second and third offenses, Habitual Traffic Offender Tickets and Animal Control citations.
Pursuant to Section 61-11-203 of the Montana Statutes, the following is a partial list of "points" assessed to the most common traffic offenses (these are subject to change as modified by Montana Statutes).
|Description||Amount of Points|
|Driving with suspended/revoked license||6 Points|
|Driving without a valid license||2 Points|
|Reckless Driving||5 Points|
|Careless Driving||2 Points|
|No Insurance||5 Points|
|Day speed 10 miles per hour or less on Highway 93||No Points|
|Night speed 5 miles per hour or less on Highway 93||No Points|
|Other day/night speed violations||3 Points|
|No Seatbelt||No Points|
|Stop Sign Violation||2 Points|
|Right of Way Violation||2 Points|
|Following too closely||2 Points|
Anyone receiving a citation must contact the Court within 10 days to determine if the fine can be paid or if they are required to see a Judge.
Court starts at 1:30 on a first come, first served basis for Justice Court I (Judge Andersen) on ODD numbered days (1st, 3rd, 5th, etc.) and for Justice Court II (Judge Orzech) on EVEN numbered days (2nd, 4th, 6th, etc.). Check in at the front desk after 1:00. It's a good idea to call ahead and make sure your ticket is actually in our Court. The date to appear on your ticket may not be the correct day. Court lasts until 2:30 when video arraignments from the jail begin.
The Judge will read you your rights and then ask for a plea of either Guilty or Not-Guilty. If you plead Guilty, the Judge will allow you to make statements concerning the offense and then he will sentence you.
If you plead Not-Guilty, the Judge will ask you if you want a Jury or Non-Jury trial and then stop the proceedings and refer you to the clerk to set a trial date. In some cases, a Public Defender may be appointed to represent you.
Driving While Suspended/Revoked (MCA 61-5-212)
A person's privilege to drive may be suspended or revoked for many reasons. Two of the most common reasons are failure to make an initial appearance on a citation, or to fail to pay fines. A notice warning the Defendant of the pending suspension is mailed to their last known address. If the Defendant fails to comply with the warning, the suspension will be forwarded to Helena.
Upon conviction of a DUI 1st, 2nd or 3rd offense, the Defendant will be required to attend the ACT program at their own expense. The Judge may recommend (1st offense ONLY) a probationary license but the defendant must be enrolled in the ACT program and have paid a $200 probationary license fee to Helena.
Minors in Possession of Alcohol (MIP)
For information visit our Minor's in Possession of Alcohol page.
For information visit our Tobacco violations page.