skip to the main content area of this page
Board of County Commissioners
(406) 258-4877
Missoula County Seal and image of areas around the City.

Missoula County - Board of County Commissioners

Department: Board of County Commissioners
Missoula County Home

Board of County Commissioners

A photograph of Missoula County Commisser Bill Carey

Commissioner Name: Bill Carey
Term: Six Years
Re-Elected: General Election, November, 2010

Biographical Information

Bill Carey was elected to his first term as Missoula County Commissioner in November, 1998. He was re-elected in 2004 and 2010.

He was the director of the Missoula Food Bank for over ten years. During that period, he also served two terms in Montana’s House of Representatives.

Bill was born in St. Louis, MO, and raised in Omaha, NE, his Dad’s hometown. He graduated from the University of California at Riverside in 1968 with a B.A. in Political Science. He is a former Peace Corps Volunteer who had the good fortune to serve in southern India during the late sixties. Returning from the Peace Corps, he taught at the elementary and middle school levels in California’s “Gold Rush Country” (near Sonora). Then for several years he co-managed a cooperatively-owned retail business in the San Francisco Bay area before moving to Missoula in 1983.

Prior to accepting the position at the Missoula Food Bank, Bill was employed by Missoula Aging Services as their Volunteer Coordinator for the “Meals on Wheels” and Senior Dining Room programs.

Bill was the first person elected to chair Montana’s Advisory Council on Food and Nutrition. He has also served on several other boards, including the Montana Food Bank Network, Families First and the Missoula Housing Authority.

Bill currently serves on several Boards and Authorities, including the County Parks Board, Partnership Health Center Board, the Missoula Development Authority (MDA) Board and TPCC (Transportation Policy Coordinating Committee).

Site Navigation

More Information

Public Meeting Minutes