skip to the main content area of this page
Community and Planning Services
(406) 258-3432 & (406) 258-4657
Missoula County Seal and image of areas around the City
Community and Planning Services
Missoula County Home

Missoula Consolidated Planning Board

The Consolidated Planning Board holds public hearings and provides recommendations to the City and County governing bodies on adoption and amendments to growth policies, zoning regulations, and subdivision regulations. They also hear and make recommendations on zoning and rezoning requests and major subdivision proposals located in both the City and County.


The Missoula Consolidated Planning Board meets the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7:00 p.m. in City Council Chambers, 140 W. Pine, Missoula. The meeting is recorded by MCAT; Check the schedule at MCAT for viewing times.

Click HERE for minutes and agendas


For member bios, click on each person's name

Name Start of Term End of Term
County Appointments: Board of County Commissioners (BCC)
Dick Ainsworth March 6, 2012 Dec. 31, 2015
Michael Houlihan Jan. 1, 2010 Dec. 31, 2015
Christine Tutty-Johnson Feb. 5, 2014 Dec. 31, 2015
Jerry O'Connell Jan. 1, 2011 Dec. 31, 2015
Nathan Lucke Feb. 5, 2014 Dec. 31, 2015
City Appointments: Mayor
John Newman Jan. 1, 2012 Dec. 31, 2016
Greg Oliver July 2, 2013 Dec. 31, 2015
City Appointments: City Council
John DiBari Jan. 1, 2012 Dec. 31, 2017
Tim Skufca Jan. 1, 2011 Dec. 31, 2015
Vacant Jan. 1, 2014 Dec. 31, 2015
Planning Board Appointed Member
Ron Erickson Jan. 1, 2015 Dec. 31, 2016
Helen Pent Jenkins (City Council) June 22, 2015 Dec. 31, 2017

Membership includes:


Montana Codes Annotated (MCA) Title 76 Chapter 1, Planning Boards, as authorized by the Interlocal Agreement, as as jointly or independently assigned by the County or City of Missoula pursuant to State enabling legislation.

Documents & Materials for Planning Board Members

  1. Board Attendance Polling Procedure Memo
  2. Bylaws of the Missoula Consolidated Planning Board (2015)
  3. The Montana Planning Board Member's Handbook (2009)
  4. The Montana Local Government Board Handbook (2012)
  5. Interlocal Agreement
  6. Montana Code Annotated Title 76 Land Resources and Use (Table of Contents, Chapters 1-4
  7. Administrative Rules for the Montana Subdivision and Platting Act (ARM 24.183.1101, 1104 and 1107)
  8. List of available CAPS documents
  9. 1998 Comp Plan
  10. 2005 Growth Policy
  11. County-Wide Land Use Map
  12. Living with Wildlife brochure
  13. County Zoning Regulations
  14. County Subdivision Regulations
  15. City Zoning Regulations
  16. City Subdivision Regulations
  17. Referral Template (fillable Word document will download)