MCSSAR is governed by a board of directors who are elected by the membership. Members of the Board include Chief, Assistant Chief, Secretary, Treasurer, and three Lieutenants who oversee the unit’s three squads. Two squads are based in Missoula and one is based in the community of Seeley Lake.


To serve the residents of Missoula County in time of need and, on some occasions, the residents of other counties where they have made a formal request for said assistance and the Sheriff of Missoula County approves the request.
To assist the Sheriff's Department of this county in the performance of its duties.
To provide the membership with ongoing training in the necessary skills of search and rescue and first aid.