skip to the main content area of this page
Office of Emergency Management
(406) 258-4758
Missoula County Seal and image of areas around the City
Department: Office of Emergency Management
Missoula County Home

Office of Emergency Management

Stage II Fire Restrictions are now in effect for all of Missoula County.


Stage II Fire Restrictions now in effect

With Fire Danger now Extreme, Missoula County Commissioners voted to impose Stage II Fire Restrictions for all areas of Missoula County.  Stage II Fire Resricitons went into effect at 12:01 a.m. on Friday, Aug. 28, 2015.

Stage II Restrictions include all Stage I restrictions, including extending the perpetual prohibition of fireworks from County parks, Forest Service and State lands to private lands within the county, as well as placing additional restrictions within the county.

The following acts are prohibited until further notice:

  • building maintaining, attending, or using a fire or campfire;

  • smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site or while in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.

 The following acts are prohibited from 1 p.m. to 1 a.m.:

  • operating any internal combustion engine;

  • welding, operating acetylene or other torch with open flame; using explosives;

  • operating motorized vehicles off designated roads and trails; and all fireworks.

Individuals can be fined up to $5,000 or $10,000 for an organization and imprisoned for up to six months for violating restrictions and closures. Additionally, Individuals can be held liable for all suppression costs and damages if they are responsible for starting a fire.

Stage II Restrictions have nine exemptions, including exempting those who have written permits and emergency repair of public utilities and railroads. 

For current smoke conditions, please view Missoula County’s Current Air Quality Status Report.


About Us

The Office of Emergency Management oversees the Emergency Response components of Missoula County and the City of Missoula.  This includes the Missoula 9-1-1 Center and the Disaster and Emergency Services office. 

The Missoula Disaster and Emergency Services section prepares and manages plans and programs directed at disaster preparedness and coordination of response and recovery.  This service is mandated by State Law (10-3-401 MCA) and is provided to the City and County by mutual aid agreement.

Oversight of plan development is accomplished by the Disaster Planning Committee (DPC), which has the following membership:

  • Sheriff.
  • County Attorney
  • County Surveyor
  • MRFD Fire Chief
  • City Police Chief
  • City Fire Chief
  • City Attorney
  • City Public Works Director
  • City-County Health Department

The Office of Emergency Management prepares and manages plans and programs directed at disaster preparedness and coordination of response and recovery.  This service is mandated by State Law (10-3-401 MCA) and is provided to the City and County by mutual aid agreement.

Additional Information

In addition to what is described above, this office provides:

  • Mitigation - Reducing the effects of potential disasters through providing information to the public on preparing for emergencies on the individual/family level
  • Preparedness - Preparing for potential disasters through planning and training
  • Response- Coordinating the activities of local government with state and federal agencies in responding to a major emergency/disaster, when necessary
  • Recovery - Assisting local government and the public in recovering from a major emergency/disaster, when necessary

The Office of Emergency Management is responsible for the upkeep and delivery of useful information to the public via the development of a coordinated effort. To continue, OEM staff members meet on a regular basis with local emergency response providers with the goal of improving services to the public.

Hazardous Materials Reporting

Missoula County maintains a listing of businesses that handle and store potentially hazardous chemicals.  This inventory is kept in accordance with Environmental Planning and Community Right-To-Know Act (EPCRA), commonly known as SARA Title III, Tier II.  Tier II reporting applies to any facility at which a hazardous chemical, as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Act, is present in an amount exceeding a specified threshold.  Federal regulations have established reporting requirements of hazardous chemicals to enhance community awareness of chemical hazards and to help develop state and community emergency response plans. The Missoula LEPC asks facilities to voluntarily report chemical storage below federal reporting requirements.

Facilities within Missoula County that handle or store hazardous materials may report inventories using the Tier II Emergency and Hazardous Chemical Inventory Form.   As an alternative to this paper form, Missoula County accepts submissions using Tier2 Submit software and encourages businesses to use this format (.t2s) to report chemical inventories.  This list is maintained through the Local Emergency Planning Committee, businesses reporting these materials can click here to email the Office of Emergency Management or can call (406) 258-3631. 

Further guidance and information can be found on the EPA's EPCRA website. Other comprehensive websites that provide additional chemical right-to-know information for Missoula County include Scorecard and RTK Net.

Site Navigation

More Information